Monday, September 24, 2012

2012 Annual Meeting: Library Awards

NEFLIN has two library awards that were presented at the Annual Meeting. 

1. Library Champion Award. This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional support for a NEFLIN library.

This year's winner is Bill Flynn, President, Fernandina Beach Friends of the Library.


2. Innovation Award. This award recognizes an innovative program or service that has demonstrated impact on the community a NEFLIN library serves.  

The co-winners of this award were the Jacksonville Public Library for their Refugee Integration Initiative. (Richard Mott accepted for JPL)

The other co-winner of this award was the University of Florida Smathers Libraries for their Panama Canal Museum Collaboration. (Rachel Schipper etal accepted for UF and the Museum.)

The Museum kindly donated a "Museum in a Trunk" for libraries to borrow.  Details forthcoming.  Also, this program was recently awarded an IMLS National Leadership Grant (read all about it).


No comments: