Monday, November 2, 2009

Leadership Institute Begins Year 6

The sixth year of the Sunshine State Library Leadership Institute kicked off last Wednesday at the Central Brevard Public Library in Cocoa. While there is an element of "what happens at SSLLI stays at SSLLI", we can reveal the list of the 2009-10 participants and mentors who will be taking their year-long journey together.

Congrats to the five NEFLIN members who were selected:

  • Jeff Bowen, University of North Florida
  • Ellie Bushhousen, UF Health Sciences
  • Joanne Colon, Sumter County Public Library
  • Sara Radovic, Jacksonville Public Library
  • Carrie Sabin-Hunsucker, Alachua County Library District

Official P.R. notice below.


The State Library and Archives of Florida is proud to announce the participants selected for the Sunshine State Library Leadership Institute – Class Six. This year-long comprehensive series of 10 sessions focuses on developing library staff to serve in administrative roles at local, regional, state, and national levels, as well as reenergizing staff currently employed in the library and information management profession. As a result of the Institute, participants from across the state are better prepared to provide the highest quality library services to the residents of Florida in an effective and innovative manner that will meet today’s needs and tomorrow’s challenges.

Twenty-five participants, who represent public, academic, special, and school libraries, were chosen from applicants statewide. The group will meet at the Central Brevard Library in Cocoa, Florida.

“The Sunshine State Library Leadership Institute has already helped library staff statewide develop the important leadership skills that will help to ensure a bright future for Florida’s libraries,” said Secretary of State Kurt S. Browning. “We look forward to continuing that tradition in the upcoming year.”

The Institute is funded by a Library Services and Technology Act grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

No comments: